Impressionist Paintings!

I LOVEEEEEEE impressionist paintings! I think what I love most about these paintings is the use of small dots of different colors to create one larger image. One of my favorite Impressionist painters is Claude Monet. The more I research impressionist paintings more I become in love with the technique! Here are a few paintings that I found that really show the technique used in impressionist paintings. 

Image

A Field of Tulips in Holland by Claude Monet was created

in the spring of 1886 during Monet’s stay at the Hague in the Netherlands. 

The use of small dots and loose brush strokes is a primary example of the Impressionist technique. 

 

lydia-cassatt-leaning-on-her-arms-seated-in-a-loge-1880.jpg!Blog

I thought it was important to include this painting of Lydia Leaning on Her Arms, Seated in a Lodge because it is a really good example of the loose brush strokes technique that is also used in impressionism. However, the small colorful dots are still my favorite! 🙂 This painting was created in 1880 by Mary Cassatt.Most of Mary’s paintings reflect the loose brush stroke technique. I think that it why Claude Monet is my favorite… I love his portraits with millions of small dots brought together to create one beautiful image!

496px-Cassatt,_Mary_Pink_Sash_1898

Here is another painting by Mary Cassatt that shows how she uses the loose brush strokes. This paintings is titled Pink Sash and was created in 1898. 605px-The_Garden_in_Flower_Claude_Oscar_Monet_1900

I also included this painting The Garden in Flower created by Claude Monet in 1900 to show how the two artists used different techniques to create the same style (Impressionist) paintings.